Single Of The Year Winner Announced At 2023 CMA Awards

Country Music Association

Which Track Won Single Of The Year At The 57th CMA Awards?

The 2023 CMA Awards were held on Wednesday, November 8 at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tennessee. Known as “Country Music’s Biggest Night,” the ceremony featured performances from today’s hottest country stars…including some show-stopping collaborations!

Luke Bryan and Peyton Manning hosted the event for the second year in a row.

Promotional image of Luke Bryan and Peyton Manning for the 2023 CMA Awards
CMA Country Music Association / Facebook

Some of the performers were Carly Pearce, Tanya Tucker, Chris Stapleton, Little Big Town, and Lainey Wilson. Jelly Roll had the honor of opening the ceremony with his hit single, “Need a Favor.”

There were 12 awards to present, including the award for Single of the Year.

What Is The CMA’s Single Of The Year Award? And How Does It Differ From Song Of The Year?

The CMA Award for Single of the Year is often confused with the similarly named Song of the Year award. The two categories differ because Song of the Year is presented to the songwriter(s). That means an artist does not win Song of the Year unless they also served as a songwriter.

On the flip side, Single of the Year is presented to the artist(s), producer(s), and mix engineer(s) behind the song. Single of the Year also tends to focus more on recognizing a single’s chart success.

“There Goes My Everything” by Jack Greene won the first Single of the Year award in 1967. Last year’s winning single was “‘Til You Can’t” by Cody Johnson

Here were the nominees for the CMA’s Single of the Year Award in 2023.

“Heart Like A Truck” by Lainey Wilson

“Need A Favor” by Jelly Roll

“Next Thing You Know” by Jordan Davis

“wait in the truck” by HARDY (feat. Lainey Wilson)

“Fast Car” by Luke Combs


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Country Music Association (@cma)

And The Winner Is…

After much anticipation, the winner of the 2023 CMA Award for Single of the Year was revealed.

And the winner is…”Fast Car” by Luke Combs!

Combs spoke about how “Fast Car” was his first favorite song from the time he was four years old. He also took the time to thank Tracy Chapman for writing such an incredible track. He finished his speech by offering a shout-out to his beautiful wife, Nicole, and their two sons at home.

Head below to listen to “Fast Car,” the winning Single of the Year! Congratulations to Combs!