CMT Music Awards Names Breakthrough Female Video Of The Year Winner


The 2024 Breakthrough Female Video of the Year winner was announced during Sunday night’s CMT Music Awards show.

The CMT Music Awards are underway at Austin, Texas’s Moody Center. The annual fan-voted awards show celebrates the best videos and performances of the past year and offers performances from some of the biggest stars in the genre.

During the live event hosted by Kelsea Ballerini, this year’s Breakthrough Female Video of the Year winner was announced. This category used to be a general Breakthrough Video of the Year award, but became gender specific in 2023. Previous female winners include Gretchen Wilson (“Redneck Woman”), Carly Pearce (“Every Little Thing”), Carrie Underwood (“Jesus, Take The Wheel”) and Taylor Swift (“Tim McGraw”).

Nominees for 2024 were:

“Rain In The Rearview” – Anne Wilson

“your place” – Ashley Cooke

“Bigger Than The Song” – Brittney Spencer

“Shoot Tequila” – Tigirlily

Megan Maroney and Max Theiriot took the stage an announced that this year’s winner is …Ashley Cooke!


About the CMT Music Awards

The inaugural CMT Music Awards took place in 1967 under the name of the Music City News Awards. In 1988, TNN (The Nashville Network) started their own awards show called The Viewers’ Choice Awards.

Two years later, the awards shows merged to become the TNN/Music City News Country Awards, a partnership that continued for a decade. In 2002, the fan-voted event was once again rebranded and took on the name of the CMT Flameworthy Video Music Awards, but that name only held for three years until it became the CMT Music Awards.

See Ashley Cooke’s award-winning video below!