2023 ACM Awards: Winner Of New Female Artist Of The Year Revealed

Academy Of Country Music Awards

New Artists Earn Recognition At 2023 ACM Awards

The 2023 ACM Awards are being held on May 11 in Frisco, Texas. Dolly Parton and Garth Brooks will serve as the hosts.

Fans can watch the ceremony exclusively on Amazon Prime Video for the second year in a row.

Some of the artists with the highest number of nominations are HARDY, Lainey Wilson, and Miranda Lambert. In fact, Lambert continues her record as the most-nominated artist in ACM history.

Other artists earned nominations for the first time ever. Some of those artists earned nods in the New Female Artist of the Year category.

The five artists nominated in the category were Priscilla Block, Megan Moroney, Caitlyn Smith, Morgan Wade, and Hailey Whitters.

History Behind The Category

The New Female Artist of the Year award was first introduced in 1965 as the Most Promising Female Vocalist award. That inaugural trophy went to “She Didn’t Color Daddy” singer Kay Adams.

In 1977, the award underwent a name change, and was called the Top New Female Vocalist award. Its name changed again in 2012, when it was called the New Female Vocalist of the Year award.

The award gained its current New Female Artist of the Year name in 2018.

Through the years, artists such as Maren Morris, Julianne Hough, Miranda Lambert, Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood, LeAnn Rimes, Faith Hill, and Tanya Tucker have received the award. Last year’s winner was “Heart Like a Truck” singer Lainey Wilson.

So Who Won This Year’s New Female Artist Of The Year Award?

In a surprise move, the Academy of Country Music announced the New Female Artist of the Year winner Tuesday evening (May 9) ahead of Thursday’s live show. Which one of this year’s nominees can now add their name to the list of winners? That artist is none other than…Hailey Whitters!

Hailey Whitters has written songs for Little Big Town and Alan Jackson, and has also written with Lori McKenna. Whitters has toured with Little Big Town, and opened for Maren Morris on her 2019 Girl: The World Tour.

In 2021, Whitters toured with Luke Combs and Midland. That same year she was named the inaugural Opry NextStage Artist of the year, scored her first CMT Music Award nomination for “Breakthrough Video of the Year” (“Fillin’ My Cup” feat. Little Big Town), and she received her first GRAMMY nomination for Song of the Year for “A Beautiful Noise.”

Congratulations to Whitters! We’re sure she’ll never forget this win!