2023 ACM Awards: Music Event Of The Year Winner Announced

Academy of Country Music

The ACM’s History Of Recognizing Collaborations

Collaborations have always been a huge part of country music. That’s why the ACM has a dedicated category to recognize collaborations at its annual awards ceremony. It’s called the Music Event of the Year award.

The award is a newer one in the ACM’s lineup. It was first given to Tim McGraw and Faith Hill‘s “It’s Your Love” in 1998. The award was called the Vocal Event of the Year award at that time. It eventually became known as the Music Event of the Year award in 2019.

Other collaborations that won the award in the past include:

“When I Said I Do” by Clint Black and Lisa Hartman Black

“It’s Five O’Clock Somewhere” by Alan Jackson and Jimmy Buffett

“Whiskey Lullaby” by Brad Paisley and Alison Krauss

“Hillbilly Bone” by Blake Shelton and Trace Adkins

“The Fighter” by Keith Urban and Carrie Underwood

Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde‘s “Never Wanted to Be That Girl” won the award last year.

Check Out This Year’s Nominees…And Winner

This year’s nominees in the Music Event of the Year category were:

“At the End of a Bar” by Chris Young with Mitchell Tenpenny

“She Had Me at Heads Carolina” [Remix] by Cole Swindell & Jo Dee Messina

“Thank God” by Kane Brown and Katelyn Brown

“Thinking ‘Bout You” by Dustin Lynch featuring MacKenzie Porter

“Wait in the Truck” by HARDY featuring Lainey Wilson

So which one of these collaborations won the award? We finally learned the answer on Thursday (May 11), the day of the 2023 ACM Awards.

The winning song is…”Wait in the Truck” by HARDY and Lainey Wilson!

As one of the most popular and meaningful country songs released in recent times, it’s no wonder why “Wait in the Truck” won this award. Still, HARDY and Wilson were stunned when they heard they won.

Congratulations to everyone who made “Wait in the Truck” such a success!