ACM Song Of The Year Winner Announced

The past year has been jam-packed with incredible country songs, and several of those were honored to receive Academy of Country Music Award nominations this year. Country mega star Reba McEntire announced the nominees at the end of February. They include:

Cole Swindell, “Break Up in the End” (Jessie Jo Dillon, Chase McGill, Jon Nite)
Chris Stapleton, “Broken Halos” (Mike Henderson, Chris Stapleton)
Bebe Rexha featuring Florida Georgia Line, “Meant to Be” (David Garcia, Tyler Hubbard, Joshua Miller, Bebe Rexha)
Kacey Musgraves, “Space Cowboy” (Luke Laird, Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves)
Dan + Shay, “Tequila” (Nicolle Galyon, Jordan Reynolds, Dan Smyers)
Russell Dickerson, “Yours” (Casey Brown, Russell Dickerson, Parker Welling)

Over the course of the past 54 years, the award, which goes to the artists, writers and publishers, has honor honored some of the genre’s biggest hits and songs that have gone on to become timeless country classics.

Some of our favorites include the 1975 Song of the Year winner “Rhinestone Cowboy” by Glen Campbell, Garth Brooks’ “The Dance” from 1990, and “Where Were You (When The World Stopped Turning),” a song that Alan Jackson released following the attacks on September 11, 2001.

This year’s winner was announced by Lady Antebellum, and the crowd went wild when the winner was revealed.

The winner of the 2019 Song of the Year is….. “Tequila” by Dan + Shay!

Academy of Country Music/Facebook

The dynamic duo broke into country music in 2013 with their debut single ” 19 You + Me,” a song co-written by the pair and Danny Orton.

It was just the beginning for Dan + Shay who have gone on to become one of country music’s most beloved duos with hits such as “From the Ground Up” and “Speechless.”

Huge congratulations to Dan + Shay!