ACM Awards: Group Of The Year Winner Announced

The 58th Academy of Country Music Awards is underway at Ford Center at the Star in Frisco, Texas. The two-hour show is airing live on Amazon Prime Video for the second year and has been jam-packed full of exciting performances and historical category wins.

One of the night’s biggest awards, Group of the Year, recognized a deserving winner. Chris Young and Mitchell Tenpenny took the stage to announce the nominees: Lady A, Little Big Town, Midland, Old Dominion and Zac Brown Band.

Academy of Country Music/Facebook

Then they announced that Old Dominion was this year’s winner!

There is no stopping Old Dominion. This is the sixth consecutive Group of the Year win for the group. As the men took the stage, they expressed their appreciation for the recognition.

“There’s people in this room like Garth Brooks and Dolly Parton and Randy Travis…and somehow we are included in this party. Still I don’t know how,” lead vocalist Matthew Ramsey said. “It’s an amazing thing that we are just mentioned in the same thing.”

He acknowledged that they are also thankful to be able to provide music for those in the room, but also those everywhere who are hurting and need their music.

History of the ACM Group of the Year Award

The Group of the Year award was first handed out in 1965 to Bonnie Owens and Merle Haggard when the award was called the Best Vocal Group award. Rascal Flatts holds the record for the most wins in this category with 7. But, Alabama and (if Old Dominion wins) Old Dominion are close behind with 6 each.

How is Group of the Year winner chosen?

According to the Academy of Country Music’s website, factors such as success at radio, consumption, success in digital media, live concert ticket sales and vocal performances are taken into account when nominees are chosen. The winner is determined by vote from ACM members.